DFB-Pokal draw to be made on 26th July

The 2020/21 season will begin on 11th September with the first round of the DFB-Pokal taking place across four days. Schalke should find out their opponent for the season’s opening game on Sunday, 26th July (18:30 CEST).


All 64 participants for the latest edition of the DFB-Pokal are not yet known. The 36 clubs from the top two tiers will definitely take part, as well as the top four teams from last season’s 3. Liga. As Bayern’s reserves finished 2019/20 top of the third division, the teams finishing second to fifth have qualified for the cup (Würzburger Kickers, Eintracht Braunschweig, FC Ingolstadt and MSV Duisburg).

Along with the 40 aforementioned sides, 21 regional cup winners will also qualify for the DFB-Pokal. The “Amateur Cup Final Day” is currently scheduled for 22nd August, meaning that the DFB-Pokal draw on 26th July will be made using placeholders for the various regional qualifiers. This means that the 21 professional teams who are drawn against a regional cup winner could face one of two sides.

The three German states with the most teams are also given an additional place (Bayern, Lower Saxony and Westphalia).

All amateur teams, who could potentially qualify for the first round, need to submit a home ground by mid-August. Their venue needs to be free to play at on the weekend of the 11th September and also needs to be able to fulfil the necessary hygiene concept.


First round: 11th-14th September 2020
Second round: 22nd-23rd December 2020
Last 16: 2nd/3rd February 2021
Quarterfinals: 2nd/3rd March 2021
Semi-finals: 1st/2nd May 2021 (not yet confirmed)
Final: 13th May 2021



Share page

You may also be interested in


Malick Thiaw suspended for two cup games

The DFB sporting tribunal has suspended Malick Thiaw for two DFB-Pokal games, due to unsportsmanlike conduct. The defender will be unavailable for all of FC Schalke 04’s cup matches until the full length of the ban has been served.


Dimitrios Grammozis: We started badly

Head coach Dimitrios Grammozis and striker Marius Bülter were both disappointed after Schalke were knocked out of the DFB-Pokal on Tuesday evening (26/10). TSV 1860 München coach Michael Köllner, on other hand, was delighted with his side’s 1-0 victory.


10-man Schalke beaten at 1860 in the DFB-Pokal

FC Schalke 04 failed to reach the round of 16 in this season’s DFB-Pokal after losing 1-0 away to TSV 1860 München on Tuesday night (26/10). The only goal of the game was scored in the fifth minute by Stefan Lex in front of 15,000 fans at the sold out Stadion an der Grünwalder Straße. S04 played most of the second half with ten men, with Malick Thiaw sent off for a professional foul in the 48th minute.


Dimitrios Grammozis: Use our momentum to reach the next round

Busy week ahead for the Royal Blues: Just three days after the 3-0 home win against Dynamo Dresden, FC Schalke 04 will be in DFB-Pokal action away to TSV 1860 München. For Dimitrios Grammozis and his players, the goal is reaching the next round, but the head coach has stressed that Tuesday evening’s game will be anything but easy.