DFB-Pokal first round draw to take place on Saturday in German football museum

On Saturday, 15th June, the 2019/20 DFB-Pokal first round draw will take place in the German football museum in Dortmund. 2003 Women’s World Cup winner and TV expert Nia Künzer will conduct the draw while DFB vice president Peter Frymuth will oversee proceedings as the 32 ties are determined. The draw will start at 18:00 CEST on Saturday.

As with previous seasons, the first round draw will be divided into two different groups. All of the Bundesliga clubs and the top fourteen from the 2018/19 Bundesliga 2 season will be drawn from one group. The remaining four teams from the second tier will join the top four teams from the 3. Liga and the 24 amateur teams representing their regional associations in the second group for the draw.

In the DFB-Pokal first round, the lower ranked teams will be given home advantage and the matches will take place from 9th-12th August 2019. The lowest ranked team in the competition is sixth tier side FSV Salmrohr.

An overview of all 64 DFB-Pokal first round teams:


FC Bayern München, Borussia Dortmund, RB Leipzig, Bayer Leverkusen, Borussia Mönchengladbach, VfL Wolfsburg, Eintracht Frankfurt, SV Werder Bremen, TSG 1899 Hoffenheim, Fortuna Düsseldorf, Hertha BSC, 1. FSV Mainz 05, SC Freiburg, FC Schalke 04, FC Augsburg, VfB Stuttgart, Hannover 96 and 1. FC Nürnberg.

Bundesliga 2

1. FC Köln, SC Paderborn, 1. FC Union Berlin, Hamburger SV, 1. FC Heidenheim, Holstein Kiel, Arminia Bielefeld, Jahn Regensburg, FC St. Pauli, SV Darmstadt 98, VfL Bochum, Dynamo Dresden, SpVgg Greuther Fürth, Erzgebirge Aue, SV Sandhausen, FC Ingolstadt, 1. FC Magdeburg and MSV Duisburg (the final four teams will be in the second group with the 3. Liga and amateur teams)

3. Liga

VfL Osnabrück (3. Liga winners), Karlsruher SC (3. Liga runners up), SV Wehen Wiesbaden (third place in 3. Liga), Hallescher FC (fourth place in 3. Liga), Würzburger Kickers (Bavarian Cup winners), Hansa Rostock (Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Cup winners), 1. FC Kaiserslautern (Southwest Cup winners), KFC Uerdingen (Lower Rhine Cup winners) and Energie Cottbus (Brandenburg Cup winners).


VfB Eichstätt (best-placed amateur team in Bavaria), Waldhof Mannheim (Baden Cup runners-up, winners Karlsruher SC had already qualified), VfB Germania Halberstadt (Saxony-Anhalt Cup runners-up, winners Hallescher SC had already qualified), SV Drochtersen/Assel (Lower Saxony Cup winners), FC Viktoria 1889 Berlin (Berlin Cup winners), Chemnitzer FC (Saxony Cup winners), SV Rödlinghausen (Westphalia Cup winners), SSV Ulm 1846 Fußball (Württemberg Cup), FSV Wacker Nordhausen (Thuringia Cup winners), Alemannia Aachen (Middle Rhine Cup winners), VfB Lübeck (Schleswig-Holstein Cup winners), FC Saarbrücken (Saarland Cup winners) and SC Verl (Westphalia Play-Off winners).


KSV Baunatal (Hesse Cup runners-up, winners Wehen Wiesbaden had already qualified), FC Oberneuland (Bremen Cup winners), TuS Dassendorf (Hamburg Cup winners), SV Atlas Delmenhorst (Lower Saxony Cup winners) and FC 08 Villingen (South Baden Cup winners)

Sixth division

FSV Salmrohr (Rhineland Cup winners).

2019/20 DFB-Pokal dates

First Round: 9th-12 August 2019

Second Round: 29th & 30th October 2019

Round of Sixteen: 4th & 5th February 2020

Quarter-Finals: 3rd & 4th March 2020

Semi-Finals: 21st & 22nd April 2020

Final: 23rd May 2020


Share page