Weston McKennie nominated for Golden Boy award

Lionel Messi, Paul Pogba, Cesc Fabregas: Just a few names on the list of footballers who have won the Golden Boy award. Weston McKennie could be the next name on that list – the Schalke midfielder has been nominated among Europe’s best U21 players.

The award was founded in 2003 as part of an initiative by Italian sports newspaper “Tuttosport” and will soon be awarded for the 16th time. The panel consists of sports journalists from various news outlets such as German BILD newspaper, the Dutch paper ‘Telegraaf’ and the ‘Marca’ from Spain.

100 players nominated

A total of 100 players have been shortlisted for the award. Alongside the 19-year-old Schalke boy, several other Bundesliga players have been nominated, such as Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund), Kai Havertz (Bayer Leverkusen) and Dayot Upamecano (RB Leipzig). The favourite is French prodigy Kylian Mbappé, who already received the award last year and is currently in strong form at the World Cup in Russia.

In years gone by, the award has been given to stars like Wayne Rooney (2004), Sergio Aguero (2007) and Isco (2012). Two years ago, Breel Embolo made the shortlist, that year, the award went to Bayern München’s Renato Sanches.

Share page

You may also be interested in


Jonjoe Kenny: I want to develop myself further as a person and a footballer

Jonjoe Kenny will strengthen FC Schalke 04 for the forthcoming season. The 22-year-old has signed on loan for the Royal Blues from Everton for a year. “I’m delighted. I could hardly believe it when I first heard that Schalke were interested in me,” said the right-back to Schalke TV.


Training camp in Mittersill, three friendlies in Ruhr Valley

Schalke will start with a clean slate on 1st July. David Wagner will take charge of his first training session as head coach of FC Schalke 04 (time TBA).

Weston McKennie trifft Kick It-Sieger

Lucky Kick It competitors win trip of a lifetime

Five lucky Under-18 players from Georgia Storm Soccer Academy in Carrollton, just outside of Atlanta, won the VIP trip of a lifetime after competing in December’s Kick It 3v3 Tournament in Atlanta. Their experience brought them to Germany for the first time to support the Royal Blues in the final match of the 2018/19 Bundesliga season against Stuttgart at the VELTINS-Arena.


Huub Stevens: Because of my friendship with Rudi and my love for the club

Huub Stevens‘ third spell as FC Schalke 04 head coach has been over now for a couple of days – and it was definitely his last. “It had to end sometime and now it finally has,” said the Dutchman in an interview with Schalke TV. Stevens also spoke about the tiring past few months, his meeting with David Wagner and his personal aims for the future.