Champions League Draw on Thursday

Will we play in Milan, Manchester or Moscow? The Royal Blues will find out this Thursday (30th August, 18:00 CEST) who they will face when the Champions League group stage draw is conducted in the Grimaldi Forum in Monaco.


32 teams will take part in the draw. 26 of them automatically qualified for the group stage, whilst the remaining six teams will have qualified through the play-off rounds.

The teams will be divided into four different pots for the draw. Defending champions Real Madrid, Europa League winners Atletico Madrid and the champions of the six top leagues in Europe will be in Pot 1. Pots 2-4 will be filled by the remaining 24 teams and the UEFA Club Coefficient, based on club performance in European competitions over the last five years, will determine which pot the team will be in.

Die Knappen will be in Pot 3 for the draw and a team from each pot will be assigned to one of the eight groups. It is not possible for two teams from the same country to meet in the group stage.

The first matchday will take place on 18th-19th September and from this season forward, two matches will kick off at 18:55 CEST with the others starting at 21:00 CEST.


Share page