LEC Playoffs: Schalke 04 Esports finishes season in top 4

The royal blue League of Legends pros achieved a strong fourth place in their first ever play-off participation in a Spring Split. After an impressive win against Fnatic, Schalke was beaten 1-3 by title co-favourite Rogue.

Clear victory against Fnatic

Jungler Gilius, Top Laner BrokenBlade & Co. had entered the Spring Split playoffs in fourth place in the group stage. In the first round of the Upper Bracket, Schalke first faced defending champion G2 Esports, who had won all four previous LEC Splits. Against G2, the royal blues showed an absolute top performance, in the best of 5 it went into the decisive fifth match. There, however, Schalke had to admit defeat after a tough fight.

The next opponent in the lower bracket was Fnatic. The seven-time LEC champion had previously won 3:1 against SK Gaming and went into the match against S04 Esports with plenty of self-confidence. But that didn’t help. The roval blue  had a great day and did not concede a single game in the 3-0 win. Gilius and his teammates deservedly advanced to the next round of the Lower Bracket.

Rogue is too strong

Schalke now played against Rogue for a place in the semi-finals of the Lower Bracket, where G2 was already waiting. G2 was defeated in the Upper Bracket by the MAD Lions (1:3). The match between Rogue and the Royal Blues started evenly, with both teams taking one game each. Rogue’s 1-0 lead was equalised by S04.

After that, however, Rogue, who had finished the group phase together with G2 at the top and is aiming for the very first LEC title, showed its class. Both the third and fourth games went to the team led by top Laner Odoamne, who was still active for Schalke until November 2020. Rogue will now battle G2 in the semi-finals of the Lower Bracket for a place in the LEC Spring Split grand final.

The final on 11 April will conclude the playoffs not only with the LEC winner but also the European participant in the Mid-Season Invitational. Since 2015 (with the exception of 2020), the winners of the worldwide splits have met there every year in April/May. The last Mid-Season Invitational was won by G2 in 2019. This year, the big event will take place from 6 to 22 May in Reykjavík, Iceland.

LEC Playoffs

  • Upper Bracket

Round 1

G2 Esports vs. Schalke 04 Esports – 3:2

Rogue vs. MAD Lions – 1:3

Semifinals

G2 Esports vs. MAD Lions – 1:3

Final

MAD Lions vs. Rogue/G2 (11 April, 5 p.m.)

  • Lower Bracket

Round 1

Fnatic vs. SK Gaming – 3:1

Round 2

Schalke 04 Esports vs. Fnatic – 3:0

Round 3

Rogue vs. Schalke 04 Esports – 3-1

Semifinals

G2 vs. Rogue (10 April, 5 pm)

The playoff matches will be played offline in the studio in Berlin and can be watched live on Twitch as usual.

You may also be interested in

S04 LoL LEC Announcement

LEC: Perfect week secures playoff spot

The royal blue League of Legends team did it again! After the sensational Miracle Run last season, Schalke moved into the playoffs of the League of Legends European Championship (LEC) in the Spring Split 2021. With three wins in a row, S04 Esports even climbed to fourth place in the final week of the group phase.

S04 LoL LEC Announcement

LEC: S04 Esports with the next perfect week

Our League of Legends professional team continued its winning streak impressively and after four successes in the LEC is tied with G2 Esports in second place. Even front runner Rogue had to admit defeat against the Royal Blues.

FeCwc

Weekly review: Schalke 04 Esports on fire!

The royal blue teams had a furious week at the end of the first month of 2021. Our FIFA professionals qualified for the FIFAe Club World Cup, in the League of Legends European Championship (LEC) there were wins against SK Gaming and G2 Esports and our PES 2021 team climbed in the eFootball.Pro with a win against Galatasaray Esports to second place. Our review of the most successful week of the year so far.

S04 LoL LEC Announcement

League of Legends: This is the new royal blue LEC team

For the year 2021, Schalke 04 Esports has repositioned itself in League of Legends. Here we introduce the team that will compete for the blue-whites in the League of Legends European Championship (LEC).

LEC Playoffs: Schalke 04 Esports beendet Saison in den Top 4

Die königsblauen League of Legends-Profis haben bei ihrer erstmaligen Playoff-Teilnahme in einem Spring Split einen starken vierten Platz erreicht. Nach einem beeindruckenden Zu-Null-Sieg gegen Fnatic mussten sich die Schalker gegen Titelmitfavorit Rogue 1:3 geschlagen geben.

S04 lässt Fnatic keine Chance

Als Tabellenvierter der Gruppenphase waren Jungler Gilius, Top Laner BrokenBlade & Co. in die Playoffs des Spring Splits eingezogen. In der ersten Runde des Upper Brackets traf Schalke zunächst auf Titelverteidiger G2 Esports, der die zurückliegenden vier LEC Splits allesamt für sich entscheiden konnte. Gegen G2 zeigten die Königsblauen eine absolute Top-Leistung, im Best of 5 ging es ins entscheidende fünfte Match. Dort mussten sich die Schalker dann allerdings nach einem harten Fight geschlagen geben.

Im Lower Bracket hieß der nächste Gegner Fnatic. Der siebenmalige LEC Champion hatte sich zuvor gegen SK Gaming 3:1 durchgesetzt und ging mit reichlich Selbstvertrauen in die Partie gegen S04 Esports. Das half aber nichts. Die Blau-Weißen erwischten einen Sahnetag und gaben beim 3:0 kein einziges Spiel ab. Hochverdient zogen Gilius und seine Teammates in die nächste Runde des Lower Brackets ein.

Rogue ist eine Nummer zu groß

Gegen Rogue spielten die Schalker nun um den Einzug in das Halbfinale des Lower Brackets, in dem bereits G2 wartete. G2 hatte im Upper Bracket gegen die MAD Lions das Nachsehen (1:3). Das Match zwischen Rogue und den Königsblauen begann ausgeglichen, beide Teams holten sich jeweils ein Spiel. Die 1:0-Führung von Rogue konnte S04 ausgleichen.

Danach zeigte der Gegner der Königsblauen, der die Gruppenphase gemeinsam mit G2 an der Spitze beendet hatte und den allerersten LEC-Titel anpeilt, aber seine Klasse. Sowohl das dritte als auch das vierte Spiel ging an das Team um Top Laner Odoamne, der bis November 2020 noch für die Schalker aktiv war. Im Halbfinale des Lower Brackets kämpft Rogue jetzt gegen G2 um den Einzug ins große Finale des LEC Spring Splits.

Beim Endspiel am 11. April wird zum Abschluss der Playoffs nicht nur der LEC-Sieger, sondern auch der europäische Teilnehmer am Mid-Season Invitational ausgespielt. Dort treffen seit 2015 (mit Ausnahme von 2020) jährlich im April/Mai die Sieger der weltweit stattfindenden Splits aufeinander. Das letzte Mid-Season Invitational entschied G2 2019 für sich. Dieses Jahr soll das Mega-Event vom 6. bis zum 22. Mai in Reykjavík (Island) über die Bühne gehen.

LEC Playoffs

  • Upper Bracket

Runde 1

G2 Esports vs. Schalke 04 Esports – 3:2

Rogue vs. MAD Lions – 1:3

Halbfinale

G2 Esports vs. MAD Lions – 1:3

Finale

MAD Lions vs. Rogue/G2 (11. April, 17 Uhr)

  • Lower Bracket

Runde 1

Fnatic vs. SK Gaming – 3:1

Runde 2

Schalke 04 Esports vs. Fnatic – 3:0

Runde 3

Rogue vs. Schalke 04 Esports – 3-1

Halbfinale

G2 vs. Rogue (10. April, 17 Uhr)

Die Playoff-Matches werden offline im Studio in Berlin ausgetragen und können wie gewohnt live auf Twitch verfolgt werden.

Das könnte dich auch interessieren

S04 LoL LEC Announcement

LEC Playoffs: Wahnsinns-Fight gegen G2 wird nicht belohnt

Schalke 04 Esports hat in der LEC den Einzug ins Halbfinale des Upper Brackets nur knapp verpasst. In einem höchstspannenden Match gegen Titelfavorit G2 Esports mussten sich die Königsblauen 2:3 geschlagen geben. Im Lower Bracket geht es für die Schalker nun mit dem Duell gegen Fnatic weiter.

EU Masters S04 Evolution

EU Masters: Alle Teilnehmer und Gruppen der Play-Ins im Überblick

Mit den EU Masters 2021 startet die nächste Auflage des größten semi-professionellen League of Legends-Event Europas. Unser Academy Team hat sich durch die Top 3-Platzierung im Spring Split der Prime League zum dritten Mal in Folge qualifiziert. Ab dem 29. März messen sich die Königsblauen mit einigen der talentiertesten LoL-Spieler unseres Kontinents.

S04 LoL LEC Announcement

LEC Playoffs: Startschuss gegen G2 Esports

Für die königsblauen League of Legends-Profis starten am Samstag die Playoffs des Spring Splits. In der ersten Runde des Upper Brackets treffen die Schalker auf Titelverteidiger G2 Esports, der zu den großen Favoriten zählt. Der Gewinner des Matches ist anschließend nur noch einen Sieg vom großen LEC-Finale am 11. April entfernt.

S04 LoL LEC Announcement

LEC: Perfekte Woche sichert Playoffs-Einzug

Das königsblaue League of Legends-Team hat es wieder geschafft! Nach dem sensationellen Miracle Run in der vergangenen Saison zogen die Schalker auch im Spring Split 2021 in die Playoffs der League of Legends European Championship (LEC) ein. Durch drei Siege in Serie kletterte S04 Esports in der abschließenden Woche der Gruppenhase sogar noch auf den vierten Platz.